top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureOtema Y

JUNE

January

March

May

And soon June

Soon it’ll be June and your lover will return

She’ll come with her bags and she’ll call you to come meet her

She’ll see you from a distance and drop her bags

She’ll hug you for what seems like a lifetime

Because it’s been long

Because someone else used to fill that space

Because I used to fill that space

Because I was there when you thought of calling her but you couldn’t

Because I was there to listen when you needed someone to talk to

Because I was there to please your earthly desires

When you wanted a pretty face to look at, you’d stare at her pictures

But when you needed a face to touch,

When you needed a hand to hold

When you needed a body to rub

Oh gosh it was me

It was me you called

When I had to stop everything I did just to fill in the gaps.

Now as June approaches, your memory of us fades

Your whispers of ‘I’ll love you forever’ , I no longer hear

I no longer feel your warm breath behind my ears

I no longer get random texts

Cause it’s May, and you’re trying to clear all traces of cheating and betrayal

We’re in May and what’s left of us is hello and hi

You’ve cleared your chat history

Cause I’m history now

Even before I try to leave you’ve pushed me out

Because you know she’ll come and take full control

Of what she once possessed

Because she’ll not want to let go after hanging on by a thread

You know she’ll want to know what you’ve been up to all the while she was gone

And you’re gonna want to say

“Oh baby, I was just here with my lonely self,

Missing you and waiting for you to come back home”.

(March 2017)

Photo effect : courtesy of Baaba Arthur

Tumblr ( prettiergh )

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

She

bottom of page