top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureOtema Y

Your Glow

My arms are weak.

My hands are tired and

it’s a wonder how I’m even able to write this.

My legs are weary from walking around-

From searching.

I’m still gathering strength.

My sandals are tearing and

the bow at the top tore off.

My eyes are almost red and bloodshot

and a kick at my feet or a push at the shoulder

would force me to the ground.

But I have to write you this:

Last week I saw a house upon a hill

it was so peaceful.

I wanted to get closer.

And claim some of the calmness it exuded

But I couldn’t.

So I walked right on.

It reminded me of you;

Of the exterior you keep.

It reminded me of the you that the world sees

It reminded me of the you that is so calm.

But you know why I couldn’t get close?

I was afraid.

I was afraid the house would explode once I got too close.

I was afraid the roof would blow off and

the grass roots would pull out

I was afraid that the house could be you.

You know how you scream when you’re frustrated ?

How you pull out your hair in exasperation?

In need of answers that never satisfy?

I hate seeing how you blow off when

you remember how cruel the world is

When sharp edges of words scratch your shea buttered skin

I hate to see you curse the world and all that is in it

Because they fail to appreciate the beauty of your heart

I hate how I can never get close

When the world pushes you in a box

with the keys tossed out

The world may not deserve your heart

The world might be blurred by the guilt and greed

But the world cannot touch you

The world may not feel the tenderness of your soul

And it cannot compare to your God given gift

The world does not have a hold on you

The world does not have a hold on you

You see, like Pam said, you’re a bowl of sunshine

A Venus to be beheld

A herald of your smile is an indication of joy,

Of happiness never felt

You touch without stretching forth

Because your genuineness easily reaches all.

When you’re stuck,

and someone on the outside tells you

it’s gonna be ok,

I know you hear it.

But it’s hard to believe.

I understand exactly how that feels.

I also understand that you’re capable

You can dance in your sorrows and turn them to joy

You don’t understand!

You are EVERYTHING.

You deserve as much happiness as the universe gives

Your heart is full of light.

You are the sun on earth

Your shimmer is inevitable

Just as the sun slowly fights the clouds to shine its rays,

The glow in your eyes pierces souls to appreciate your beauty

Don’t fight the world for space to glisten

You are a burst of light on a gloomy day

❤️

Photograph by Nana Asomani [IG: @as0mani]

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

She

bottom of page