top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureOtema Y

Bridge

What’s in the after life?

What’s across the bridge?

What’s beyond the horizon?

Do we ever come back?

Reincarnated?

Or do we spend the rest of our ‘lives’ there?

I cannot tell.

I cannot see beyond the bridge.

It’s a mixture of light and darkness.

An unclear tint and shade.

But I see what’s behind.

It’s clear.

Very clear.

I turn around and I see my history.

I see my wrongs and I see my good.

I see my pain and sufferings

And I see joy and laughter.

Once a time in the good old days.

I see a yesterday.

I see my falls and I remember when

And how I had to pick up.

I see how I’ve changed

And I see how my thoughts have evolved.

I see how I was a cute little girl

And I feel how I’ve grown.

I see the people I met.

The friends I made.

Those I dropped

And those who dropped me.

Those who fell off and those who held on.

I know what I learnt.

The experience I gained.

I stare and I see where I’ve come.

That window is closing

So there’s no longer a going back.

No longer ” I wish I could live this again”.

I see a today.

I see a present.

And I see a now!

I don’t have to stare at it.

I get to live it!

I get to like every moment of it!

Every second every hour.

Every minute I’ll be spending it like it mattered.

Cause today I realized

Life had to be lived!

Or else we wouldn’t have to call it life.

So maybe there’s an after life.

But who here has seen it?

Who over here has lived it?

It’s the now I see.

It’s the present I get to live everyday.

So imma make it count

I’ll do what I have to do.

Now. No permission for my passion.

Cause it’s just one life

And I get to live it!

(9th July 2016)

-Almost midnight.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

She

bottom of page