top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureOtema Y

Open Letter Vol. 1


It’s the 6th of April 2017

Daddy’s birthday.

My legs spread, I’m sitting on my bed staring out the window

I’m listening to cool J.Cole

His new album ‘4 Your eyes Only’ isn’t so bad. It’s not like I expected it to be below standard.

Slowly the night drops and the day disappears. I’m not thinking about anything in particular. I’m just allowing the songs and instrumentals to play in the background.

As I sat here I thought of you and wondered what you may be up to. Have you gotten a grip on life now? Never expect too much. I hope you know that. Things happen. Just know that family matters most and we’re always here for you. Know the people you call your friends and never be quick to make too many.

Make sure to pick and choose. Be nice to all but know when enough is enough. A handful of friends will not hurt. But even with that, know how to relate. Love but don’t expect to always be loved. As I said earlier, Never expect too much.

I hope you’ve been eating well. You should if you don’t.

Be Watchful,

Your muse.

Photograph by Emmanuel Dompreh (@esdomp)

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

She

bottom of page