top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureOtema Y

Open Letter Vol. 3

Were you expecting a third letter soon?

I’ll be honest with you. I’ve not thought of you much in the last few days.

It’s cause I’m happy.

I realized I find time to write to you when I’m bored.

When I have nothing to do.

But in the last few days I’ve found a bit of happiness.

Life has been going on well.

I seldom complain and I take time to appreciate the little things life brings.

I wake up and I smile at the sunlight that makes me squint.

I bid you to wake up and smile.

Say a prayer of thanks in your heart.

You should try and throw a smile at a friend

who’s got her head hung low

Take a hand in your palm and rub it

Try to learn to calm a soul

Try not to let a day pass without a kind word said

One day I made someone smile

One day I encouraged a friend

One day I reminded someone of who he once was

One day I helped a total stranger remember

What made him so happy

I found out within me how much joy it gave me

I found out from within how much helping others helped me

It brought out a feeling I hadn’t felt in a long time

These words on paper can’t express the depth of it

But I hope it carries with it the bit of happiness in me.

I’m still around.

You’ll find me if you search me,

Your muse.

Photograph by Calvin Ayivie

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

She

bottom of page