top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureOtema Y

Open Letter Vol.5

I couldn’t get myself to finish the fourth letter

I wasn’t even halfway done but I had to send it either way

I constantly have to remind myself to do things for me.

I’ve been so glued to making others smile,

That I forgot how dashing my own smile is.

I forgot how it feels like to create creases around my own lips.

I forgot how it felt like to close my mouth

From smiling too hard.

I read somewhere, a beautiful quote that I’d like to echo to you

“Do you boo, Do you”.

Do what makes you happy.

And do what makes you smile.

Be happy before trying to kill yourself for someone else.

How can you help a friend if you’re sad yourself?

Build your own happiness and help others mold theirs.

I’d like to see you smile.

Maybe you’re already good at that.

I’m still learning though.

I’m learning not to let the piercings of words intangible,

prick my heart

I’m learning to smile regardless of the pain

I’m learning to be happy just because I want to be

I’m learning to write any day anytime,

Cause that’s something that makes me happy.

Its your muse,

Reply me sometime.

Photo : courtesy of NaWelly Gedel (@_WellyG_)

Special thanks to these friends (Edwin @allotey2018 and Elvis @ presley_reborn) for making me smile

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

She

bottom of page