top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureOtema Y

Open Letter Vol. 6

My stellar,

How was the trip to Bali? I’ve seen pictures sprawled across your social media pages. You look cheerful and vibrant. Your face is glowing in the sun and the shea butter in your hair shines bright.

Yesterday I went to my favorite place. I went to the beach and looked to the horizon from the shore.

The water began to ebb and wrap my feet. It was cold. But immediately it went away, the sun rays shone on my feet. Then the water came again with the cool.

The sun, sand and spray played little games. I was in a happy place.

Before I sign off let me add that I made a new friend at the beach.

She was really pretty. She came at the right time, like a guardian angel to my rescue. She sat in the sand with me and we played sea side games. She likes the stars just like you do. She told me where she came from but was unsure where she was going. She had been hurt, she had cried but she was full of joy. Her heart was made of gold, woven into an embrace of love that she spread on everyone she aquatinted.

She reminded me of you. Of How brave you are. Her eyes cried purity and I melted just by looking at them. I couldn’t see through them. They were clouded by friendliness and genuineness. They called me to be as good as they were and I dreaded how long I had lived before coming across such goodness although it was through no fault of ours. Mother Nature had delayed on this one.

When the skies turned purple, her black African hair looked a different shade. It didn’t blow in the wind like the white girls’ hair. It only stood stagnant with little obeisance to the direction of the wind.

She didn’t leave till I was ready to bid the seas goodbye. She walked with me along the shoreline and over the wet rocks. And before we parted ways in the hope of meeting again, she told me to never lose hope. My stellar, never lose hope. Always shine bright. Don’t let anyone, no matter how intimidating or how much grip you think they have on you, take away what’s yours. Don’t let them take your heart and soul away. For these make you who you are and these make you happy. You’re a gem. You can stand on your own because you are that strong and you’ve always known it. You’re beautiful and de jure have that power to stay true to yourself. Don’t let anyone take what’s yours. Ever.

You belong to you.

Your muse.

I’ll always be here through it all.

For Doreen

🌟

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

She

bottom of page