top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureOtema Y

The Letter Of A Broken Girl

Don’t wake me up when you’re ready to leave

Allow me to sleep

Don’t wake me up to face the troubles of this world

Let me dream

Leave me in the land where I have no cares

No worries to think of

The keys are behind the door

I left them there last night

When we drunk ourselves to the brim

and let ourselves lose

When we felt no shame

And displayed passionate affection

Now the dawn is here

Just the way it drove out dusk

It took away with it happiness

Wrapped in the soiled bedspread of the tears and pain

You ripped me apart

Tore out my every flesh

Opened up my bruised but sealed wounds

of my once broken heart

A heart broken by you

Mended in a night

But shattered by the day

It seems you don’t mind

You’re okay with the life we live

This ain’t never love

Let’s seal it if it is

I can’t help but run back to you

Whenever you call

Like a pup to the whistle

Like a lamb to the slaughter

I’m at your disposal

I always ask, ” what repels you?”

There’s no ring on your finger

Or is there another woman?

You say there isn’t

You’re afraid of commitment

I’m okay with your decisions

But every time I feel you,

Every time you’re in me

You take a piece outta me

But drop it at the door

It hurts to see you let me go

Now more than ever I’m ashamed

Is this what your love is s’pose to feel like?

Now more than ever this feeling to let you go rings louder in my ears

Itches my burning skin

A part of me still longs for you

But how do I love and still feel guilty?

What kind of love comes with pain?

What kind of lust comes with tears?

Be sure to pick up every one of your clothes

Your coat is on the rack

Your T-shirt, I took it off this morning

There’s toast on the table

You can help yourself to it

Today is different

I can’t lift myself out of bed

I can’t stand to see you.

No ‘good morning’ hugs

No ‘I’ll see you when I need you’ kisses

Please quicken your departure

For once you’re gone I’ll have to keep reminding myself of how I’m better than this

How I cannot be treated this way

I’m a woman who needs pure love

I’m a woman who needs to find integrity

I won’t stoop so low any longer

I’m a Woman

And I deserve to be treated as such.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

She

bottom of page